topbella

Friday, May 7, 2010

The finer things in life

Anyone see that new add for lotto on the telly?

An old man wins lotto and pays for all these fish to go into the local lake so him and all his old mates can actually catch some fish at their local spot...Such a sweet way of appreciating the smaller things in life...He doesn't need to buy mansions and fast cars ... just add a bit of excitement to his daily fish and bring a smile to his friends
love it ♥


On that note, I'm going to bed to have some of my own sweet dreams :)

Monday, May 3, 2010

Before I Was A Mum

Before I was a Mum, I never tripped over toys Or forgot words to a lullaby. I didn't worry whether or not My plants were poisonous. I never thought about immunizations.
Before I was a Mum,
I had never been puked on. Pooped on. Chewed on. Peed on. I had complete control of my mind And my thoughts. I slept all night.


Before I was a Mum,
I never held down a screaming child So doctors could do tests. Or give shots. I never looked into teary eyes and cried. I never got gloriously happy over a simple grin. I never sat up late hours at night watching a baby sleep.


Before I was a Mum,
I never held a sleeping baby just because I didn't want to put her down. I never felt my heart break into a million pieces when I couldn't stop the hurt. I never knew that something so small could affect my life so much. I never knew that I could love someone so much. I never knew I would love being a Mum.


Before I was a Mum,
I didn't know the feeling of having my heart outside my body.. I didn't know how special it could feel to feed a hungry baby. I didn't know that bond between a mother and her child. I didn't know that something so small could make me feel so important and happy.


Before I was a Mum,
I had never gotten up in the middle of the night every 10 minutes to make sure all was okay. I had never known the warmth, the joy, the love, the heartache, the wonderment or the satisfaction of being a Mum. I didn't know I was capable of feeling so much,
Before I was a Mum.




Friday, April 30, 2010

Crouching Betty, Hidden Moth

Even though it’s no longer moth season, they are still out there and they are still finding ways to let me know they are out to get me!!

While I was out today, I decided to stop to pick up some lunch at the Baker Street shops. As I pulled into a parking space I called Mr.J to ask what he wanted when all of a sudden a giant teradactle-sized moth flew in the window at the speed of lightening, it was coming for me and it was angry (I know this because it was yelling expletives at me) I screamed in a panic and dropped my phone. I was just about ready to jump into the backseat when something stopped me.

Was it courage? Was it the killer moth? NO it was the back of the car…I WAS IN THE UTE!!! There was no backseat…there was no where to go!!!

So with the smallest ounce of courage I found scrumbled up on the floor amongst some rubbish, I reached past the moth and started winding up the window!! I wound with the stength of a hundred men.

Silence.

It was gone…BUT WHERE?

I knew it wouldn’t have gone far…did I kill it? That, I didn’t know. But I knew it was somewhere waiting for me.

Anyway, with all the dignity in my little toe, I schooched over the hand brake and jumped out from the passenger side…I wasn’t taking any chances.

I slowly creeped around to the other side of the car and had a peek…I knew it was still there, but where? I couldn’t rest until I knew its whereabouts. Then I saw it…smooshed under the window. Ok so is it actually smooshed or is it just sitting there waiting for me to let down my guard??

Not wanting to take any chances, I didn’t put the window down the whole trip home and I practically sat in the passenger seat for fear of it creeping through the glass to attack while I was driving.

Anywho some time passed and Josh decided to go out for a little while. We both had forgotten about the moth.

When I remembered it was there, I called him to see what happened.…

“It was still alive” he said.

I KNEW IT!!

Mr.J said it wasn’t actually smooshed but was trapped in between the rubber seal and the glass but didn’t die…Like I have said before, peoples! These are no ordinary moths! They are some kind of mechanical killing beast and they are out to take over the world, one human at a time…starting with me!

Wednesday, January 27, 2010

The Miracle of Life

The Birth of Muffin.


It was just after 8pm on the evening of Thursday, 7th January 2010, I had just turned on the telly and cut myself a nice slice of strawberry cheesecake. I adjusted my preggo pillow to support my back, reclined my lounge and just started to get comfy when something didn’t feel quite right…I suppose I felt a bit ‘damp’ down there. It could’ve been nothing as I quite often got very sweaty in my fatter days of pregnancy but just to be sure I decided to go to the loo for a wee…just incase I found something funny on TV.

Immediately after I sat on the toilet a small trickle of water rushed out of me, not enough to be considered a wee but enough to arouse my suspicions… I went to the bathroom to wash my hands and then some more came right out. “Oh dear” I thought. “I’ve pissed on the floor!!”

I quickly rang Mr.J at work to tell him something wasn’t right and that I’d call him right back once I knew for sure what was happening.

After a chat with one of the emergency night staff at The San, I then knew for sure. My waters had broken. This is it! The moment we had been waiting for, finally arrived.

I called Mr.J back to tell him to get his but home straight away, called all the parents involved and as I was on the phone to dad, I went to stand up and walk somewhere when out came a really big gush of my waters breaking…oh dear! It really was messy. So after grabbing something to sit on (Mr.J’s shirts worked fine), I figured it was best if I just sat there doing nothing and Mr.J can finish getting ready for me when he gets home.

Once I had cleaned up and had a nice shower, Mr.J had all my things ready to go and we’d had another chat with the hospital, it was time to go in. We did think it was a bit too soon as Dr Paul had recommended not going in until my contractions were 5-7 minutes apart and I had not yet had one, but as the nurse explained, its best to come in once my waters have broken so they can keep a close eye on me and make sure everything is as it should be.

The delivery suite was so lovely, my bed, a lounge, bathroom with spa and shower, and my machines that would soon become almost a part of me.

Shortly after getting settled, my nurse for the night, Jo, came in and hooked me up to the machines.

Within minutes I started to feel a bit uncomfortable, I wasn’t sitting in a very comfy position and I think I was beginning to get contractions.
I wanted to walk around to try and ease the pain and distract myself, but wasn’t able to as I was hooked up to the machine.

After about an hour had passed the pain was so intense it was making me sick…from both ends. Once Jo disconnected me I was able to run to the bathroom to relieve myself. When I came back I asked her if there was anything I could do to make these contractions not feel so bad. She looked at the chart from my machines and said “I’m sorry but, you haven’t had any contractions yet”

Well then what the hell was all this pain??? Turns out it was “just cramps”. JUST CRAMPS?? Holy mother of god…this meant it was going to get worse!!

And get worse, it did!

I was not allowed to have a bath but I was allowed to have a shower and since I’d forgotten to pack my heat pack I thought the heat from the shower might help a little. It did seem to ease these horrid “cramps” for a while…they started breaking apart…only lasting for a minute or two. It wasn’t until after I’d nicely puked all over myself in the shower that I realised, these weren’t cramps any more. These were my contractions beginning and they were starting to hurt.

After jumping out of the shower and putting some underwear on, I tried to walk around to keep occupied but the pain I was going through was just too much for my legs to bear, I had to go back to my bed. Jo came and hooked me back up shortly after so we could monitor my contractions and the baby’s heartbeat and make sure all was going accordingly. Yes everything was happening as it should be, except that it was all happening very, VERY slowly. Except for the pain of course…that just got worse by the second.

Not allowed to lay on my back I was rolled up onto my side squeezing the life out of Mr.J’s hands and breathing like a mad woman every time the contractions hit…it seemed to be very frequently but it turns out that I still had these “cramps” in between so while the contractions may have eased off a bit, the pain was still far from over.

Two or so hours of this, plus added kicking, punching and screaming I was offered some gas. I had heard that it does sweet bugger all, and I believe that I had heard correct. All it succeeded in doing was preventing me from screaming, sometimes.
I think maybe an hour or two had passed again when Jo came back in and I spat out the gas and cried “You’ve gotta give me something more. I can’t do this. I can’t handle the pain!!”

So she said she would arrange for an epidural, “it will take about half an hour till you get it”. “WHY?!?!” “Because the doctor who does the epidural needs to come from home.” Oh good god, I thought. Another half hour or so of torture!!

As I fought the will to live, Dr Someone (was so not paying attention at the introductions) arrived 15 minutes early…Well who cares what his name is, to me right now I will just call you god. “Thank you god!!”

While I knew the epidural would help me out, it was still really hard to focus on that part at the time because actually receiving the epidural was a rather tough challenge. Mr.J and Jo helped me to sit up, they turned my legs around to hang off the bed and placed them firmly on a chair. A pillow was then shoved across my tummy and under my armpits. I had to press down on it, leaning forward with my head down, my elbows bent but NOT resting on my knees, and DO NOT MOVE. Um I’m sorry what? How the hell can I not move? First of all, this isn’t a comfortable position under normal circumstances but I'm having contractions that make me wanna explode! “That’s ok, when you get a contraction, just remember, DON’T MOVE!” shit!

20 minutes later it felt like he was finishing up. “Is it done now?” I asked with every ounce of hope in the world.
“Umm…not quite, sorry. I put it in the wrong spot.” Oh sure no worries cuz that doesn’t bother me. Please, spend another 20 minutes there, I’ll just sit here and die!

After what seemed like decades had passed, they were finally finished. Within about half an hour all the pain had gone…along with the feeling in my body from the tummy down…including the control of my bladder. By this stage, however, I didn’t give a shit about my bladder. I had been sitting there stewing in my own filth for the past 5 or so hours anyway, a little more mess wasn’t gunna make much difference.

Once the epidural had been functioning for over an hour, Jo came back to insert my catheda. Due to all the shitty gas I’d sucked, the minute her and Mr.J rolled me onto my back and sat me up a tiny bit, I got nauseous and started vomiting again. Oh what the hell…vomiting while a woman sticks a tube inside your urethra seems rather natural for 3 O’clock in the morning, don’t you think?

Mum and TJ arrived shortly after. Mum thought that since I’d just had the epidural the labour should continue for another 3 or so hours then the baby would be born early morning. Oh how I wished she was right. But alas, I was only dilated 3 centimetres. That’s like a centimetre every 2 hours. ARGH!!

Even though the pain from the contractions had faded away, I was still rather uncomfortable as I could only lay on my side but couldn’t feel my legs and by this stage, had lost all strength in the rest of my body so every half hour or so I needed Mr.J and Jo to flip me to the other side, like an egg. Unfortunately for me though, I had no ‘sunny side up’.

By about 8am Friday morning, the tiredness had well and truly taken over all of us and it just felt like the night was never going to end.

Dr Paul came to see me around 9am. If we were hoping for some kind of light at the end of this horrible tunnel, we were sure to be let down. I was only dilated 5 or 6 centimetres! And the baby still hadn’t dropped yet. So I was injected with yet another dripped that would intensify my contractions in the hopes to push bubs down into the cervix so we could do a natural birth. My epidural was also refilled as it had run out within the last 2 hours.
Dr Paul explained to us that bubs was posterior, and that if it dropped when he came back for his next check up in an hour or so, he would be able to manually turn the baby and we could do a natural birth. However, the possibility of a caesarean was still there as he was still concerned with the size of the baby against the size of my pelvis.

Just after 10am, Dr Paul checked me again. The intense contractions had been doing their job, bubs had dropped a lot more down into my pelvis and I was about 8 centimetres dilated. Things were finally starting to look up for me. He wanted to give me another hour to get fully dilated and then the birth would commence.
I was so overcome with joy as I really did not want to have a c section.

11am and we were getting ready to meet our baby. Dr Paul checks me out again, to make sure everything was as he needed it to be to begin the delivery. However, things were not looking up for me. The baby was stuck. My pelvis was too small for the size of its head and it could not get any further down. Trying to give birth naturally was out of the question as it would just cause too much stress on me and bubs and it was just not worth it.

As disappointing and scary as that was, I had been at this for 15 hours, even if the baby wasn’t stuck, I truly feel that I would not have had the strength to push anyway. I was over it. I was tired, and sore, and hungry and I just wanted it to be over and done with. So I was prepped for surgery and given my 3rd epidural top up.

Emotions were high for all of us but we had to do what needed to be done. As they wheeled me away, I said goodbye to mum, TJ and Chooky and Mr.J and I were taken into theatre.

Many different doctors and surgeons and midwives were there explaining how it will work and what will be happening to me.
The anesthetist explained that he gives me an injection into my epidural which will completely take away any pain I would feel during the surgery. Once they were sure I would feel no pain, they called Mr.J in and set to work.

I had Dr Paul, Dr Peter (another obstetrician) and a nurse working me from one end. I had Mr.J, two nurses and the anesthetist at the top end talking me through everything that was happening and there were about 5 or so other people in the room, doctors and nurses just observing and offering support for both myself and the doctors.

I have never been more scared in my life. EVER!

I was extremely worried I would feel pain. There was a lot of discomfort but no actual pain, thankfully. Each time the doctors did something, one of the support doctors would tell me what I should expect to feel so that I didn’t get a shock from anything. There was a lot of pushing and pulling movements and every now and then there would be pressure in certain places.

As scary as it was, every step of the way Dr Paul and Dr Peter (hehehe Peter and Paul lol) would walk me through what they were doing.

“We can see its head now”, said Dr Paul.

“It has brown hair”, said Dr Peter. “Do you know what you’re having?”

“No”, Mr.J and I both said in unison.

12:00 noon, Friday January 8, 2010 - “Mr.J, stand up and have a look at this” the doctors said…

“Mr.J, remember I am watching your face so be careful how you react!”

Mr.J stood up and peered over the sheet.

“Congratulations guys. You have a little baby girl!”

“Are you serious??”

“We sure are”

As soon as they took her out and I saw her, for a brief moment, time stood still. Nothing else mattered in the world. It was like being in a picture and it was a beautiful picture.

But then I was yanked back into reality as they started to look around inside my insides making sure everything went back to its correct location and that I was as healthy as can be, then they started stitching me up.

The c section itself took probably about 10 minutes but the stitching took about 20 or so as there were many layers for them to mend.

Once the nurses and Mr.J had her a bit cleaner and all wrapped up they placed her on my chest for a cuddle.

“Now guys, I have a small confession to admit to you” said Dr Paul. “Because she was stuck in your pelvis, I accidentally cut her a little bit on her cheek when we opened your uterus…”

Whoops. Oh well her first little scratch, had to happen sooner or later.

Once I was all stitched up and re dressed Mr.J and Muffin were sent off to go meet the world and I was sent to recovery for half an hour.

All in all it was a very tiring, scary and emotional experience but at the end of the day (after being awake for over almost 40 hours), Mr.J and I are now the proud parents of little baby girl Muffin.





Friday, December 4, 2009

Our Babys 4D Ultrasound

Ooook
So facebook is being a big meanie and wont let me upload my video due to the background music I've chosen...I think that's pretty shit facebook!!But anywho this seems to be the only way I can share it with you so I have uploaded it to my youtube and will post the link here.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HtrrINAyUmQ

Wednesday, October 28, 2009

Moth Related Update…

This is just a quick update on the moth-status to keep you all informed of the twisted mind games these retched creatures play and to keep you all alert and prepared for anything.

So as you know from my previous blog, there are two moths hiding in the elevator at work…well, not hiding very well as I know they are there.

Anyway, they have been there for some time now, a week or two maybe, taunting me each time I enter…last week for a split second I thought the elevator broke down while I was trapped in there with them and I envisaged the front page of the next days Herald… “Young pregnant woman mauled to death by killer moths lurking in the dark places of the elevator” Horrific I know…luckily though, the elevator was not broken and I managed to escape!!

Ok so here I was thinking they weren’t very smart because they weren’t hiding very well and I could see them. I have noticed over the past few days that they have had some movement as I've mentally marked their positions in my mind and some days I go in and they’re in a different spot to where they were the day before…

However, it was brought to my attention tonight, that these killer creatures are actually a lot smarter than I give them credit for.

They must be aware that I know of their location…perhaps they have a facebook spy stalking my profile, reading my blogs…either way, somehow, they know that I know where they are and now it seems they have taken to drastic measures to keep their cover from being blown…So take this all as a warning peoples, things are not always as they seem….


…THEY HAVE NOW DISGUISED THEMSELVES AS CHEWING GUM!!!

Thursday, October 15, 2009

Ahh Shit! Its that time of year again…

As I’m sure you are all aware (if you’re not then you’re an idiot!) but Christmas is approaching. Summer is approaching.
There are many wonderful things about this time of year…The warmth, falling asleep by an open window, mangoes, lying by a pool reading a good book while drinking a cocktail of some sort…many, many wonderful things.
Unfortunately with the good, comes the bad.

This time of year also means the time for many horrible things…Higher credit card bills due to “Christmas” Shopping, spring cleaning (shudder), being obligated to spend almost a whole day with people to whom you may be related but never knew existed during any other time of the year, aka “The Family”, the stench of too many sweaty bodies in one small space at one time, and of course…MOTH SEASON!!!!!!!!

Yes that’s right folks, that dreaded time of year has approached us once more and this year I am more scared then ever.

If you’re new to my blog, first of all, welcome, and second of all I must inform you that I am absolutely terrified of moths. I am completely aware that this is infact an extremely irrational fear but I cannot control it. I have tried on many occasions and have failed on all occasions.

As we all know, moths generally come out at night…when the bright shiny fluorescence of unnatural light beckons them out of their daily slumber and awakens them to the world. This means, Moth Season is going to be worse this year for two main reasons:

1. I don’t work through the day any more…I work AT NIGHT! And
2. I’m pregnant, therefore everything I do is not just about me any more, as much as I'd like to think otherwise (from time to time
).

Due to my being pregnant, I am really quite concerned that my fear of moths may cause havoc for my tiny unborn baby. I’m worried that a moth will be attacking me (because that’s the only reason they have been put on this earth) and I will freak out, as I do, try to get away, trip and fall and hurt my baby.
The irrational thing about that (besides the actual fear itself) is that of the 74 million times I have been under attack and had to get away in a panic, I haven’t really fallen all that often…a stumble here and there but nothing major. I guess that’s because during those challenging times, I've not needed to consider the wellbeing of any other…being.

Because I now work only at nights…I am subjected to the battlegrounds more often then I'd like. Especially at work…I am constantly surrounded by the bright lights to which these retched creatures are attracted…I strongly believe that this is where they meet in the early evenings to plan their next attack!

Last night when I finished work, I walked into the car park elevator slowly and with precaution, scanning the perimeter for any enemies as I do every night, and there on the bottom edge of the railing was one white moth. I held my breath and willed the elevator to hurry up and finish its long journey from ground floor to the carpark so I could quickly escape before being eaten alive. I was lucky to survive but concerned that I'd left it there…alive.

As a result I had 3 nightmares about moths last night so you can imagine my horror as I saw the beast hiding in the elevator again today when I arrived at work. I warned Ms.D about the hidden assailant so she was not attacked unawares.

At the end of the night, I finished my shift, gathered my belongings, and made my way to the building exit to accompany Ms.D on her break. As I approached the glass sliding doors, illuminated by the unnatural fluorescent light mentioned above, I saw them. Three giant moths guarding the exit, waiting for me to approach.
My archenemies seemed a little more dense this year, I thought to myself, noting that they did not hide very well and I was able to be prepared for their attack. However, much to my shock (and relief), they did not attack…instead, they opted for mind games…a war tactic I have seen before. They show themselves…making their plans for war evident, plant the seed of fear into my brain. Make it apparent to me that they are here and they mean business!!! Clearly not as dense as I first suspected…

When it was time to leave, I approached the elevator again with caution and fear, knowing that the white warrior may still be there. Ms.D tried to assure me that because it was still there it should mean that it was not going to harm me, but alas, she does not know the mind games they play.

“It knew I would be back…it quite possibly informed the others I would be back.”

And just as I feared, there were others. Ms.D had to press the button for me as there was a great big green one guarding the area.

The doors opened, I peered inside…it was still there…and it was not alone. I quickly passed on my last wishes to Ms.D…just incase I didn’t make it out alive, but again…I was saved. This is just the beginning…

People be aware!!! They are here. They are angry and they are out to get me!

I ask…no, I beg of you. If you see one (or more) DO NOT LET IT LIVE!! They Must Die!


If you enjoyed this, then you may enjoy the following entries:

THE PLAGUE - God Must Hate Me...
………………………………………………………………
Update on...THE PLAGUE

………………………………………………………………

OMG Scary Stuff!!

………………………………………………………………

Moth Season is Approaching...

………………………………………………………………

OH MY GOD - BREAKING NEWS!!!

Stay Safe Amigos

ºBoopº

My Photo
Ms Boop
Welcome to my blog. I hope you enjoy the intricate workings of my mind as much as I do. Love Betty xXx
View my complete profile